The Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

The Constitution Project formed a Criminal Justice Advisory Committee (CJAC), comprising seven distinguished individuals with collective professional experience that spans the criminal justice system. Although we have longstanding committees with significant expertise in expanding the right to counsel, recommending vital reforms to the death penalty, and reforming criminal sentencing, TCP has been increasingly asked to take positions or issue statements concerning various criminal justice issues outside these topic areas.

The CJAC will advise TCP staff about broad criminal justice policy, as well as potential new projects and requests for assistance.


Mariano-Florentino Cuellar
Professor of Law and Deane F. Johnson Faculty Scholar, Stanford Law School; Former Special Assistant to the President of the United States for Justice and Regulatory Policy

Nancy Gertner
Professor of Practice, Harvard Law School; Former Judge, United States District Court for the District of Massachusetts

Harry Shorstein
Shorstein & Lasnetski, LLC; Former State Attorney for the 4th Judicial Circuit of Florida

Christina Swarns
Director, NAACP Legal Defense & Educational Fund, Inc.

Larry Thompson
John A. Sibley Professor in Corporate and Business Law, University of Georgia; Deputy Attorney General of the United States under President George W. Bush; Former United States Attorney, Northern District of Georgia

John Van De Kamp
Of Counsel, Mayer Brown LLP; Former Attorney General, State of California; Former Los Angeles County District Attorney; Former Federal Public Defender, Central District of California

Michael A. Wolff
Dean and Professor of Law, Saint Louis University School of Law; former Judge and Chief Justice of Supreme Court of Missouri



Donate Now

US Constitution